“reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.”
Music features

♫ Sam Tsui & Kylee – Just Give Me A Reason

Like most of the world, I’m in love with Pink and Nate Ruess’ song. It’s a craze. It’s everywhere – and it deserves the attention. The raw power in Pink’s voice is addictive and echoes with the energetic current often found in her songs. In fact, when I first heard this song and noticed a male singer, I remember wondering if he would be able to keep up with her – he most definitely could!

Artists have made great Pink covers, often by toning it down with their own interpretations. Not many step up to the task of… well, belting it the way she does.

Still, I get excited when I see my favourite youtube artists covering this song (to the point where I’ve developed a reflex reaction to the words ‘just’ and ‘reason’). I’ve been amazed by some brilliant covers in many different styles, though some part of me hoped that someone would step up to the full challenge of the original.

Then I found it. The one.

Sam and Kylee’s version is the one that hits the homerun for me. Several homeruns. They put their feet into Pink’s footsteps. That alone is worthy of respect. The fact that they were absolutely amazing? Pure admiration of their talent, their skill, their harmony. And okay, just a tiny smidgeon of jealousy; not because they sing phenomenally (I can barely sing the Australian national anthem properly), but because it’s a breathtaking experience to do something perfectly.

I actually knew Kylee before the song showed up in my feed. I knew that the songs I had of hers on my ipod were powerful, the ones that always made themselves heard when others got drowned out by the noisy train – and she’d been fourteen. When I saw ‘Kylee’, I wondered if it was the same one. My gut feeling said yes. My brain was momentarily out of action because a) “it’s a small world after all~~” was ricocheting in my mind, and b) I was processing that Sam Tsui + Kylee could only = awesome.

I was right.

I was so impressed with Sam’s versatility. From the slow ballad covers that had brought him to my attention, to upbeat pop remixes, to throwing all his breath into this song, he’s truly earned my respect. And Kylee – she blew me away! Her growth over the past few years shocked me into wide-eyed awe. That girl has stage presence. Together, these two were an absolute spectacle. Their voices blended well and were equally matched despite the challenging song. They went where many didn’t.

Of course, equal credit goes to Kurt, who produced the song and MV. It’s easy to overlook Kurt, with his generosity towards helping other artists produce good music. But he pulls just as much weight as the vocalists in all occasions. For one, he can probably play every single instrument. Secondly, his MVs are shot and put together with simple yet effective artistry. Thirdly, how can you not love that awesome drumming?!

I love the original and this cover equally, in different ways. I hope you guys enjoy them too! Please support the artists who produced these amazing tunes by:

Checking out the original: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpQFFLBMEPI

Visiting Kurt’s youtube channel.

Checking out other songs by Sam and Kylee.

And buying their track on iTunes!

About munchkinwrites

Christine: n. a girl perpetually caught between childhood and maturity, reality and fiction. Blogs about writing, music, life and random rainbows.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

