“reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.”
Blog, Camp NaNoWriMo (July)

All packed for Camp NaNo!

You know I’m serious when I set my alarm for 7.a.m. Really, really serious.

It’s the last hour of June here in Sydney. It’s only been a little over a week since I shackled myself to the decision of doing Camp NaNoWriMo. It’s just hit me that this is as ready as I’ll get.

I’ve been good about my preparations. I trained myself into writing 1,000 words for the past week. I managed it quite consistently at first, hitting 1,500 a lot of the time. Using Svenja Liv’s word count spreadsheets kept my motivation high (I really recommend other Campers to check them out!). I haven’t been that good the past two days though. I still wrote but it wasn’t clicking. I was pacing a trench in my room. This can’t be real. Am I going to get blocked hours before Camp?

My writer’s reflection in the mirror rolled her eyes at me. “Does it really matter?”

Oh. Now that you mention it. No, I guess it doesn’t.

After all, wasn’t this the whole point of doing Camp? I’d get blocked, give up and never finish that story I want to bring into this world. Didn’t I want to go wild and return to the good old days, where I’d smash through writer’s block with obnoxious boldness?

So yeah, I’ve hit a rough patch. The scene is hard. Going from fanfiction to original stories, it is so hard for me to face the first chapters. But hey – that’s what first drafts are for! I’m not feeling good about the list of things I know I’ll have to come back and completely rehaul, but I’m not going to stop for them right now. I really have to train myself hard for this. My inner editor is as fussy as a mandrake.

But you know what? In spite of everything, I think I’ll be fine. Even if I’m not, well, I’ll have to be because I just announced it to you guys! My pride is reliable like that.

To my fellow Campers out there – there are days where we will feel terrible about our writing and our goals. When that happens, I hope that we can look back at the current me, forty-five minutes before the campfire starts up, and be comforted by the knowledge that at least you got stuck during Camp. This silly girl ran headlong into a wall before Camp even started. But it’s okay. She’s got a rock-hard head. She’ll get her 31,000 words done and with any luck, they might not be the worst 31,000 words she’s ever written. She’s going to remember what it’s like to love the writing process, word by word.

I’ve added a progress meter on the right for you guys to follow as I scribble away. Please feel free to prod me any time you think I’m slacking off, because chances are I’ll need it! I’d love to stick this tough month out with you guys, so let me know if you’re doing Camp as well. The writing life doesn’t always have to be solitary! All the best, everyone!

Now please excuse me while I set my alarm.

About munchkinwrites

Christine: n. a girl perpetually caught between childhood and maturity, reality and fiction. Blogs about writing, music, life and random rainbows.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “All packed for Camp NaNo!

  1. Good luck! *waves pom poms*

    Posted by Maryam | July 3, 2013, 12:39 am
  2. You can do this! Just know that a first draft doesn’t have to be perfect!! Give yourself permission to just write!

    Posted by L. Marie | July 2, 2013, 1:03 am
  3. I’m glad to hear that you’re all packed up and prepared for camp already! I’m still not but I have around 3 hours left to do so here :P I agree that it is really hard to go from fanfiction to original work especially when one is so comfortable playing with a world that has already been created for you. But we’ll make it through :) All the best to your novel! See you at camp!

    Posted by fheebi | June 30, 2013, 11:38 pm
  4. Good luck! I’m cheering for you from my couch ;)

    Posted by Lauren | June 30, 2013, 11:34 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo: Smashing Writer’s Block | After Writer Dreams... - July 2, 2013

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 28,784 hits
