“reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.”
Featured articles, Resources for Writers

✎ Featured article: 7 F***in’ Great Ways to Build Your Writing Routine

“I spent ages looking for tips on building writing habits, and was disappointed. There’s a lot of bland advice out there: write every day, don’t edit while you write, have a goal… None of that is very helpful if you’re trying to understand how you should actually put this stuff into practice.

Fortunately, there are plenty of interesting books on habit-formation out there, and a few good studies done on how creative writing actually works at the psychological level. I went through a bunch of those books to see what they suggested. I have tested everything I mention in this article, and the combination of these things has tripled my daily writing. I hope it helps you, too.”

Read ‘7 F***in’ Great Ways to Build Your Writing Routine’ by Phil Jourdan

There’s no better time than Camp NaNo to be looking for writing routine advice! Most of the time I come across similar articles with the same tips repeated, which only further grounded me to the idea that writing is freeform expression without rules. I’d just have to figure out my best performance by myself. This article brings up some interesting points that get me thinking outside the box. For example: I’m not a morning person at all, but have I actually been writing better at 8am in the morning… because I was hungry? I’ll get back to you on that one.

About munchkinwrites

Christine: n. a girl perpetually caught between childhood and maturity, reality and fiction. Blogs about writing, music, life and random rainbows.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “✎ Featured article: 7 F***in’ Great Ways to Build Your Writing Routine

  1. Thanks for sharing :) Litreactor is a nice writing community. I always enjoy reading their articles.

    Posted by Creative Mysteries | July 3, 2013, 2:52 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 28,409 hits
