“reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.”
Articles, Blog

Share Your Dreams

Dear You.

Actually, I don’t really want to do the ‘Dear you. Yes, you‘ thing. Let’s try again.

Dear everyone,

Do you have dreams? Not the snoozing kind – I’m talking vision, ambition: a dream. Is there something you wish for before you blow out the candle, that makes you check the sky for shooting stars? What about something you’ve told yourself you’d do, in the countdown before fireworks welcome the new year? Do you have something you want to do?

I do. Plenty, in fact. When I was little, I think I wished for my family to be happier than we were. As I grew older, I learned that that was actually a wish; in other words, relying on hope and something or someone else to do what you can’t. Optimism is a great and powerful thing but sometimes, it can be frustrating. Sometimes things just won’t get done by blowing out a candle, and it’s not as simple as leaving Santa a letter and cookies. Maybe sometimes, we need to channel our optimism into energy to seize the day and achieve what we can what our own hands.

So those dreams of yours – of ours. They may be small and easy, they may be enormous and overwhelming. They may be completed in seconds, days, months, years. Some might be impossible, but are you happy to tell yourself that without trying, not just once, but again and again?

Whatever your dreams are, chase them. Better yet, let’s chase them together.

Usually, our dreams will come with smaller goals to help us achieve them. Quite often, we don’t tick all those goals off, or it takes us longer than it should have. I should know this: I’m a chronic procrastinator. Dare I estimate 8/10 of you reading this probably are too? We will all have many and different reasons for leaving our goals hanging. You know what? That’s okay.

We’re not perfect. We’re not robots either. Trust me, you wouldn’t really be living if you vowed to study for ten hours every day for a year, and actually did it. I tried (okay fine, it was four hours). It’s okay to not meet your goals immediately and efficiently. There’s enough pressure in our lives without us trying to heat ourselves into diamonds.

What’s not okay, is giving up. Staying stagnant.

Unless you’re a remarkable exception, you only live once. We’ve only got so many days to spend doing the things we want to and let me tell you this: there’s a high chance you won’t be able to do every single thing you want to. So let’s make the most of it, shall we?

Some people find that sharing your dreams and goals with others will help. If you’re a procrastinator like me, the simple act of announcing it should move that mountain a little. Tell yourself you’ll do it and these are the steps how. If you’re well into achieving your dreams, good on you! Share them with us, celebrate it! I know there are also some of you out there who are uncertain, afraid or feel under heavy pressure. It might help to share it with someone and get it off your chest. Everyone is welcome to comment on and reach out to others. You might meet people with similar dreams!

One more thing. Although it would obviously be really great if lots of people participated, it doesn’t matter if that’s not the case. Don’t let that discourage you because I’ll promise you this right now: even if this idea doesn’t get off the ground at all, I’ll always be listening. Pinky promise!

So… want to try it? Here’s how it’s going to work:

Comment with your dream/ambition (aka long term goal) and a maximum of 7 short term goals to help you achieve that dream. That’s right, only 7. It’s harder to achieve a dozen small goals so I want you to really condense them. Make them achievable if you can.

Please use the following template in your comments:

  • Name: Whatever you want to be known as. Real names, usernames, anonymous, etc. Anything goes.
  • Website: (optional) So we can get to know you better, if that’s what you want.
  • Dream: Summarise your long-term goal in one or two sentences – e.g. “I will finish a novel in one year.”
  • Goals: Give us a max of 7 smaller goals to help you achieve your dream – e.g. “I will write something creative every day.”

I will add your dream and goals to the main body of this post. Let me know with a comment when you achieve a goal or dream and I’ll strike it out on the list. The longer our list, the better!

Guidelines:

  1. Any dreams or goals can be used. But be realistic. Ask yourself: can I see myself doing this? Will I be able to make myself do it?
  2. Absolutely anyone can post. Don’t be shy!
  3. Your goals don’t have to be measurable – it is perfectly fine to never tick them off because they are ongoing. They can serve as reminders to yourself.
  4. It’s hard to tell when some dreams/goals are truly achieved. They can be lifelong. However, if you begin to feel satisfied and think you’ve really got it, of course we can tick it off! Just say the word.
  5. You can post as many dreams as you like. That said, I urge you to be succinct. Don’t make your dreams too similar.
  6. If you post less than 7 goals in one dream and later think of something you want to add, make a comment and I’ll gladly add it on. But remember, no more than 7!
  7. If you’d like to tell us your story or reason behind your dream, you are most welcome to. Although this won’t be included in the post to be economical with length, your comments will be read.
  8. You’re welcome to chat with other commenters about their goals. I’ve extended the comment thread length to 10 posts. If you want to talk more, I encourage you to exchange info or check out each other’s websites!
  9. Please be kind and respect everyone. You may not criticise anyone for their dreams. The reason is obvious. I don’t want to go from chasing my own dreams to chasing you. With a broom.
  10. I said ‘any’ dreams or goals but obviously, keep it appropriate. Hopefully we all have similar perceptions of ‘appropriate’. PG rated. No swearing.
  11. There are no other rules. That means you are free to pursue your dreams however you like. There is no time limit (you can specify one if you want), no pressure and no punishment if you don’t meet your goals. You’re not making a promise to me or anyone else: just yourself.

Thanks everyone! And remember: chase them.

Christine

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

tumblr_m5yhimwik31rvl9vvo1_500

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Christine

I want to be the best person I can be.

  1. Always thank the bus driver, even if they probably can’t hear me and especially if I look awkward. Keep it up for at least a week.
  2. Get off my butt and greet Mum or Dad when they come home. Don’t be lazy. Try it for one week.
  3. Take university seriously. I’ll need the knowledge for the rest of my career life. Mum says education is power. Do not fail a single subject throughout the four years of my degree.
  4. Get a dog and raise it well. Let it teach me compassion and loyalty.
  5. Don’t be a bystander.

30/05/2013

You Can’t Hide The Spark

My dream is to be a published children’s author! My 7 goals are:

1. I will write regularly (daily if poss)
2. I will tell myself “I am a writer” (and hope my subconscious gets the message at last)
3. I will stop chasing other dreams that distract me from this goal (like trying to run several businesses at once)
4. I will be kind to myself (this isn’t any easy path)
5. I will sit at my computer for 10 minutes a day (small steps are less likely to scare the pants off me)
6. I will remember to PLAY; after all, the whole point is to have fun!
7. When the going gets tough, I will congratulate myself for being in the arena (rather than watching, frustrated, from the sidelines, which is the most soul-destroying thing ever and something I have perfected for 43 years!)

27/8/2013

About munchkinwrites

Christine: n. a girl perpetually caught between childhood and maturity, reality and fiction. Blogs about writing, music, life and random rainbows.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Share Your Dreams

  1. My dream is to be a published children’s author! My 7 goals are:

    1. I will write regularly (daily if poss)
    2. I will tell myself “I am a writer” (and hope my subconscious gets the message at last)
    3. I will stop chasing other dreams that distract me from this goal (like trying to run several businesses at once)
    4. I will be kind to myself (this isn’t any easy path)
    5. I will sit at my computer for 10 minutes a day (small steps are less likely to scare the pants off me)
    6. I will remember to PLAY; after all, the whole point is to have fun!
    7. When the going gets tough, I will congratulate myself for being in the arena (rather than watching, frustrated, from the sidelines, which is the most soul-destroying thing ever and something I have perfected for 43 years!)

    Posted by You can't hide the spark | August 27, 2013, 7:53 pm
  2. Loved that movie that I literally cried. I know how to be a poor fellow.
    Great post. :-)

    Posted by belsbror | June 10, 2013, 12:52 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Help Nicholas Wells make good music! | Plotting Bunnies - June 9, 2013

Leave a Reply

